For Students

The Roger Schwirck Award

The Roger Schwirck Award for Excellence in Philosophy

Roger David Schwirck graduated from UNCG in 1989 with a BA in Philosophy and a minor in Latin.  His pursuit of these elements of a classical education was distinctive and admirable.  Roger Schwirck was an outstanding student who exemplified the ideals of academic excellence (and a good person who was much loved and respected by his professors and fellow students).  Excelling in Logic, The Theory of Knowledge, Metaphysics, and Ethics, he maintained a perfect record in the philosophy courses he took at UNCG.  In 1989, Roger Schwirck won a prestigious UNCG Student Excellence Award and became a member of Phi Beta Kappa.  When he graduated from UNCG later that year, he received his BA in Philosophy with Honors, Magna Cum Laude.  After graduation, Roger Schwirck continued his studies at Ohio State University in a nationally recognized PhD program in Philosophy.  He was not able to complete his graduate work due to the tragic events which led to his death in 1998.

The Roger Schwirck Award for Excellence in Philosophy is made possible by an endowment created in his memory through the generosity of Joseph Roif and the family of Roger Schwirck.  This scholarship award is usually in the amount of $1500.00 and honorable mention winners will receive $500.00 (deposited in their UNCG account).

To submit a paper for consideration for the Schwirck Scholarship Award:

        *We will post a new submission date in Spring 2020*

Philosophy majors who will have completed five Philosophy courses by May of the current year, have a very good GPAand who submit a well-written, well thought-out paper on any topic in Philosophy for consideration by the review panel are eligible for the Schwirck Award.  The deadline for submission in 2020 will be announced in February.  Papers can be submitted online to or handed in at 239 Curry.          

Roger Schwirck Award Recipients:

  • Brendon Kenney  2019
  • Omar Obregon-Cuebas 2018
  • Carolyn Kane 2017
  • Allen Marshall 2016
  • Carolyn Kane 2015
  • Caroline Kane 2014
  • Aaron P Sullivan 2013
  • Aaron P Sullivan 2012
  • Mark Henkle 2011
  • Rachel Durso 2010
  • Joshua Johnson 2009
  • Catherine Dupre 2008
  • Oliver Johnson  2007
  • Amie Martin     2006
  • Melissa Hejlik    2004
  • Edward Ferrier   2003
  • Carolyn Sanzenbacher   2002
  • Krista Karbowski   2001

2019 Honorees: 

  • Jeannie Ake
  • Shelley Brown
  • Brian Bolling
  • Joshua Fugate

2018 Honorable Mentions

  • Shelley Brown
  • Brendon Kenney
  • Jason Varner
  • Michael Villanueva

2017 Honorable Mentions

  • Shalonda Branch
  • Tyler Draughn
  • Brendon Kenney
  • Mark Lynch
  • Temere Rountree

2016 Honorable Mentions

  • Nicholaus Chase
  • Dominic Chiellini
  • Caroline Kane
  • Jorge Lopez
  • Cecil Yancey

2015 Honorable Mentions

  • Alexandra Harris
  • Michael Scates

2014 Honorable Mentions

  • Alexandra Harris
  • Zack Murcoch

2013 Honorable Mentions

  • Caroline Kane
  • Tyler Kenefeck
  • Joshua Moore

2012 Honorable Mentions

  • Tyler Kenefeck

2011 Honorable Mentions:

  • Jacob Boyd
  • Kathleen Huie
  • Joshua Moore
  • Aaron Sullivan

2010 Honorable Mentions:

  • Laurell Bell
  • Kathleen Huie

2009 Honorable Mentions:

  • Benjamin Shook
  • William Davis

2008 Honorable Mention:

  • Serena Reavis
  • Joshua Johnson
  • Ben Shook

2007 Honorable Mention:

  • Ronald Farlow
  • Daniel Nash
  • Jacob Linney
  • Adam Eggleston